Thank you for your patience while we retrieve your images.

Created 17-Jun-12
20 photos
2012 Awards Presentation Evening
On 16 June, the Club held its first Awards Night to celebrate the achievements of our gymnasts over the past year. Previously, the awards have been presented at the annual Christmas Display, however this year we decided that we wanted to hold a separate event to properly celebrate the awards and more importantly, do it in style. The evening took the form of a Buffet Supper, followed by the presentation of the awards, which covered a range of categories from Progress Awards in each squad, to Base, Top and Gymnast of the Year. Two new awards were also introduced: The Gymnasts Gymnast (awarded by the gymnasts to one of their own) and the Special Recognition Award. The new Club Captain was also announced during the Evening. Entertainment was provided by the gymnasts themselves who had been invited to do short presentations, talks, poems etc on an aspect of gymnastics or the Club that was important to them. Without exception, these interludes were a real highlight of the night; amusing, thought provoking, uplifting and heart-wrenching are just some of the emotions that were experienced by a packed audience as they listened to some amazing experiences. The evening culminated in the presentation of the Gymnast of the Year Trophy, which was awarded to Laura Stockwell. Laura has simply excelled in every way over the past 12 months, in her progress as a gymnast, as an aspiring coach and in particular, as an amazing role model. She is a worthy winner and a young lady of whom we are all very proud.

The full list of Award Winners is:

Club Captain: Becky Evans & Gabby Jackson

Progress Awards
Talented Starters: Esme Peal
Talent Development: Jay Luxford
NDP Beginners: Carla Hollier
NDP competitive: Aysha Hutter
FIG Development: Abi Woodliffe-Thomas
FIG Progress: Victoria Traff

Conditioning Trophy: Lucy Kavanagh
Most improved Dance Trophy: Nina Ferber & Xenia Parry
Special Recognition Award: Emily Allen
Top of the Year: Sophie Newell
Base of the Year: Becca Brookes and Cossi Jackson
Gymnast of the Year: Laura Stockwell

Categories & Keywords
Subcategory Detail:
Keywords:Awards Evening, Oxford, acrobatics, gymnastics

A 4 hour transformation and the Gym is ready for the public!A 4 hour transformation and the Gym is ready for the public!A 4 hour transformation and the Gym is ready for the public!A 4 hour transformation and the Gym is ready for the public!A 4 hour transformation and the Gym is ready for the public!Buffet Supper before the AwardsJay, winner of his Squad Progress Award with his Fan ClubSophie - winner of Top of the Year Award with Mum ClaireSupper in full swingSophie, joint winner of the Gymnasts Gymnast Award with Becca and HollyMungo and EllieThe food was fantastic!Becca, joint Winner of Base of the Year and SophieCarla - winner of her Squad Progress Trophy with some of our younger gymnasts - all looking very glamorous!EllieThe 2 new Club Captains taking their role very seriously!Carrie and EllieGabby (winner of The Gymnasts Gymnast Award) and BeckyOxford Award Winners 2011-2012Silverware